Key Westminster committee posts

The various chairs of the select committees of the House of Commons for the new session have now been elected (in 11 cases, without contest). The Parliament website gives the relevant names.

Some of interest to the sector include:

  • Work & Pensions – Frank Field
  • International Development – Stephen Twigg
  • Communities & Local Government – Clive Betts
  • Health – Dr Sarah Wollaston

The next step will be the election of the other members of each select committee, also by secret ballot, by the parties which have an allocated number of seats on each committee.